August 10, 2020

Winners at the AIM Independent Music Awards 2014 include London Grammar, Arctic Monkeys & Sophie Ellis Bextor

The Association of Independent Music celebrated another triumphant year for independent music as it unveiled the winners at the fourth annual AIM Independent Music Awards. 

The darlings of the independent music scene London Grammar continued their triumphant rise with 2 awards, Arctic Monkeys picked up the coveted Independent Album Of The Year Award (sponsored by MixRadio), while their label Domino Records collected Independent Label of The Year (sponsored by Believe Digital) and dan le sac Vs Scroobius Pip won VEVO’s Independent Video Of The Year Award for ‘You Will See Me’. 

Hosted by Xfm’s long term champion of new music John Kennedy and Alice Levine, one of Radio 1’s newest voices, the event opened with a live performance by Twin Atlantic and was closed with spellbinding grace by Daughter, performing in honour of this year’s Pioneer Award winner Martin Mills, founder and chairman of The Beggars Group.  

Twin Atlantic collected the Independent Track of The Year Award for their smash ‘Heart and Soul’, and London Grammar – having led the way with four nominations  -picked up two awards on the night, Independent Breakthrough of The Year and the PPL Award For The Most Played New Independent Act.  

The only other double award win of the evening went to renowned label Hyperdub Records, picking up Best Small Label and the new Innovator Award, presented to label head and founder Steve Goodman aka Kode9 for his boundary pushing, risk-taking approach to independent music. 

With over 20 years of independent success to their name, the coveted Independent Label of The Year Award went to Domino. Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album went to Ben Watt for ‘Hendra’, and Sophie Ellis-Bextor won the popular vote on the website Songkick to claim the Best Live Act award.


Best Live Act (in association with Songkick): Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Independent Breakthrough of The Year (sponsored by 7digital): London Grammar  

Hardest Working Band or Artist (in association with Jack Daniel’s): Ghetts 

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with Xfm): Ben Watt – Hendra 

Independent Album of The Year (sponsored by MixRadio): Arctic Monkeys – AM 

Best Small Label (sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services): Hyperdub

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: London Grammar 

Special Catalogue Release of The Year (in association with Amazon Music): Various – Purple Snow: Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound

Independent Label of The Year (sponsored by Believe Digital): Domino

Independent Track of The Year (sponsored by Spotify): Twin Atlantic – Heart & Soul 

Independent Video of The Year (sponsored by VEVO): Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip – You Will See Me 

Indie Champion Award (sponsored by CI): John Doran, The Quietus

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF and DIY): Barn on the Farm

Special Recognition Award: Alison Wenham, AIM Chairman and CEO

Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic): Richie Hawtin

Pioneer Award: Martin Mills, Beggars Group

Innovator Award (sponsored by The Orchard): Steve Goodman aka Kode9 of Hyperdub Records


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.